Goa Sun, Sand, Sea....
Aguada Fort, which crowns the rocky flattened top of the headland, is the best-preserved Portuguese bastion in Goa, Fort Aguada was built under the guidance of an Italian architect Filipo Terzi. Built in 1612 to protect the northern shores of the Mandovi estuary from Dutch and Maharatha raiders, it is home to several natural springs, the first source of drinking water available to ships arriving in Goa after the long sea voyage from Lisbon. On the north side of the fort, a rampart of red-brown laterite juts into the bay to form a jetty between two small sandy coves The name 'Aguada' means watering place; this is derived from the large well and several springs which provided drinking water to incoming ships. The fort also has a four-storey light house, built in 1864. The ruins of the fort can be reached by road; head through the Taj village, and turn right when you see the sign. Nowadays, much of the site serves as a prison, and is therefore closed to visitors. It's worth a visit, though, if only for the superb views from the top of the hill where a four-storey Portuguese lighthouse, erected in 1864 and the oldest of its kind in Asia, looks down over the vast expanse of sea, sand and palm trees of Calangute beach on one side, and across the mouth of the Mandovi to Cabo Raj Bhavan, and the tip of the Mormugao peninsula, on the other.
Cabo Fort (Raj Bhavan) 9 km from Panaji, it lies on the peninsula land jutting out in the Arabian Sea, at Dona Paula. Initially during the Portuguese era, a Franciscan Convent, was attached to the fort. This later became Cabo Raj Bhavan and is now the Governor's Palace.
Chapora Fort Located 10 km out of Mapusa, it has a splendid view of nearby Anjuna and Vagator beaches. The fort once in the hands of Muslim rulers before the Portuguese wrested it, has some interesting ruins.
Mormugoa Fort This fort near the internationally famous Mormugao Harbour was built to protect the harbour situated near the Vasco da Gama town. Its work started in 1624. It covered an area of six miles in circumference, contained towering bulwarks, three magazines, five prisons, a chapel and quarters for the guard. It had 53 guns and a garrison with 4 officers, and was an important fortress on the western coast. However, except the chapel and a portion of the boundary wall, little is left of this fort.
The Gate of the College of St. Paul The College of St. Paul, once the principal institution of Jesuits in India for imparting knowledge on Christianity, was built over the ruins of a mosque south of St. Cajetan’s church at Old Goa in 1542. However, it was abandoned during the outbreak of plague in 1570 and went into disuse. The Government demolished this ruining structure in 1832 to carry materials for building construction in Panaji. The only remnant of this College is the façade in the shape of an arch with a niche at the top and a cross crowning it. The arch that led to the College as a gateway is built of laterite, flanked on either side by a basalt column of the Corinthian order on raised plinth, and supported by basalt pilasters of the Doric order.
The Gate of the Palace of Adil Shah The palace of Adil Shah at Old Goa was the most prominent building with magnificent lofty staircases. It was the residence of the Portuguese governors till 1695, and was afterwards used by them on festive occasions. It was deserted during the epidemic in the 18th century, was demolished in 1820 and the materials carried to Panaji for construction of houses. Now only the gate remains which is architecturally purely brahminical in style. Six steps in front of the gate lead to the raised platform on which the gate stands.
The Tower of the Church of St. Augustine Built in 1602, the only ruin of the Church of St. Augustine on the Holy Hill at Old Goa near the Nunnery, is a lofty 46-metre high tower defying the torrential rains. The tower is one of the four of St. Augustine Church that once stood there. The Church when intact was perhaps the biggest in Goa. With the religious suppression in 1835, the Augustinians deserted the church and the convent. The neglect resulted in the collapse of the vault on September 8, 1842. The façade and half of the tower fell in 1931 and some more parts of it collapsed in 1938.
The Viceroy's Arch It is one of the gates of Adil Shah’s Fort at Old Goa. It was renovated by the Portuguese and was the gateway to Goa for Portuguese Governors. Every incoming Viceroy used to disembark at this place. The arch was rebuilt by the Governor Francisco de Gama (1597-1600) in the memory of his great-grandfather Vasco da Gama. It was again completely re-built in 1954.